Skip to content

Miguel Cabrera aggravated an ankle injury last night

Aug 21, 2014, 11:32 AM EDT

The Tigers have been getting uneven offensive performances this year. So this can’t be good news:

He’ll play through it, but he’s DHing today. Last year Cabrera got absolutely sapped after suffering injuries late in the season. This is a totally different and apparently less minor injury, but it can’t make Tigers fans feel good.

  1. SocraticGadfly - Aug 21, 2014 at 11:42 AM

    Can’t make them feel good for the rest of this year, or for that albatross contract that hasn’t even started yet.

    Paging Ryan Howard!

    • unclemosesgreen - Aug 21, 2014 at 2:00 PM

      Way too soon, and terrible comp. Miggy has never been a platoon player, and he’s already out-hit this year’s salary even in a “down” year for him.

      The end seasons of every major contract signed in the past 5 years will look ugly, for every player. But I don’t think there’s a reasonable argument to be made that Miggy’s contract is the worst, or anywhere close to the worst.

      And a sore ankle isn’t going to make any Detroit fan start worrying about a contract extension.

  2. succulentnipples - Aug 21, 2014 at 11:55 AM

    The Johnathon Football.

    • SocraticGadfly - Aug 21, 2014 at 12:53 PM

      Are you just posting that everywhere? Go away.

  3. Detroit Michael - Aug 21, 2014 at 12:55 PM

    This didn’t look like much of anything. After the slide, the trainer spoke with Cabrera in the dugout, but that was it. He didn’t come out of the game.

    At this point of the year, all the everyday players are banged up to some extent.

  4. Mikhel - Aug 21, 2014 at 11:40 PM

    I hope that injury doesnt affect his speed, range and defense everybody in Detroit and Venezuela seem to think he has.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. B. Crawford (2833)
  2. C. Correa (2644)
  3. Y. Puig (2557)
  4. G. Stanton (2516)
  5. G. Springer (2482)
  1. H. Pence (2377)
  2. J. Hamilton (2223)
  3. H. Ramirez (2106)
  4. M. Teixeira (2042)
  5. J. Baez (1991)