Skip to content

Video: Padres notch third straight extra-innings walkoff

Aug 31, 2014, 9:34 AM EDT

Check out Alexi Amarista guiding the Padres to their third consecutive extra-innings walkoff victory with an RBI single to shallow left-center field Saturday night against the visiting Dodgers …

It’s the first time ever that the Padres have won three straight extra-innings games, and the first time since 1986 that they’ve won three straight in walkoff fashion. The Padres beat the National League Central-leading Brewers on Wednesday night in 10 innings and are now playing spoiler against the NL West-leading Dodgers.

  1. Black Dog - Aug 31, 2014 at 10:13 AM

    Hell of a throw by Puig.

  2. norcaldeportes - Aug 31, 2014 at 11:23 AM

    Should have employed the 7 outfield wall. What is Mattingly thinking!!

  3. jimeejohnson - Aug 31, 2014 at 11:54 AM

    It’s a pennant race in the NL West, again.

    • gloccamorra - Aug 31, 2014 at 12:19 PM

      It’s gotten close, but look at the September schedule. In addition to 6 games head to head, the Dodgers have 3 against San Diego and 4 against the Cubs. The Giants have 3 in Detroit and seven against San Diego. The final weekend, the Dodgers host Colorado for three, the Giants host San Diego for four. LA has the advantage, IF their bullpen holds up.

  4. sd619tripleog - Aug 31, 2014 at 2:32 PM

    Padres always seem to do well and play competitive ball during the last part of the season in recent years. It’s the first 3/4 of the season that make you scratch your head and wonder

  5. serinagillian - Sep 1, 2014 at 6:12 AM

    Keep up to date with all the completed deals with our list of all the movers on Transfer Deadline Day. Arsenal boss Arsene Wenger has refused to rule out a move for a new striker before the close of the transfer window.more details check link.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. J. Baez (2268)
  2. B. Crawford (2229)
  3. H. Pence (2187)
  4. B. Harper (2109)
  5. C. Seager (1972)