Skip to content

Jorge De La Rosa named Rockies’ Opening Day starter

Mar 12, 2014, 6:42 PM EDT

jorge de la rosa getty Getty Images

As speculated last week by Troy Renck of the Denver Post and then confirmed Wednesday, left-hander Jorge De La Rosa will start for the Rockies on Opening Day, March 31, against the Marlins. It’s the beginning of a four-game series at Marlins Park.

Jhoulys Chacin would have been given the honor, but he suffered a right shoulder strain near the end of February and is expected to begin the 2014 regular season with a stint on the 15-day disabled list.

This will be the first Opening Day start for De La Rosa, who posted a career-best 3.49 ERA (127 ERA+) in 167 2/3 innings last season for Colorado.

He is currently scheduled to become a free agent five days after the 2014 World Series.

  1. tfbuckfutter - Mar 12, 2014 at 6:58 PM

    I have no idea why I’m being so OCD right now….

    But this is kind of funny because he was originally signed by the Diamondbacks, then purched by the Red Sox, who traded him back to the Diamondbacks in a package for Curt Schilling, who then traded him in a package with Chris Capuano to the Brewers for Richie Sexson, and now Chris Capuano is with the Red Sox more than a decade later.

    I don’t know if that’s interesting or not. I’m guessing no. But, you know….who the hell else is talking about this topic?

    • tfbuckfutter - Mar 12, 2014 at 7:03 PM

      Actually….wait….there’s more….

      Tony Graffino was claimed off waivers by the Royals from the Red Sox, who then traded Graffino for De La Rosa.

      So how did he end up in Colorado you ask?

      They traded Ramon Ramirez for him….who was then….traded to the Red Sox for Coco Crisp.

  2. mondogarage - Mar 13, 2014 at 9:38 AM

    Wrong de la Rosa. The Rockies obtained Jorge de la Rosa from the Royals back around 2008.

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. H. Ramirez (2471)
  2. G. Stanton (2453)
  3. G. Springer (2433)
  4. S. Strasburg (2364)
  5. C. Correa (2344)
  1. J. Baez (2342)
  2. B. Crawford (2264)
  3. H. Pence (2252)
  4. M. Teixeira (2183)
  5. B. Harper (2037)