Skip to content

Jeremy Affeldt headed to disabled list with MCL sprain

Mar 26, 2014, 8:15 PM EDT

jeremy affeldt getty Getty Images

Bad news Wednesday night out of Giants camp.

According to Alex Pavlovic of the San Jose Mercury News, left-handed reliever Jeremy Affeldt will be shut down for the next 10-15 days with a sprained MCL in his right knee. That means that he will open the 2014 regular season on the 15-day disabled list.

Affeldt posted an underwhelming 3.74 ERA and 5.6 K/9 in 33 2/3 innings last year before suffering a July groin strain that lingered into September. He had a 2.66 ERA and 8.0 K/9 in 125 innings the two years prior and landed a three-year, $18 million contract from the Giants in November 2012. Affeldt had allowed seven earned runs in six frames this spring.

Andrew Baggarly of suspects that the Giants will carry either Derek Law or J.C. Gutierrez to make up for Affeldt’s early-season absence. Final cuts are expected to be made Sunday.

  1. illuminancer - Mar 26, 2014 at 8:48 PM

    Affeldt is on the DL.

    Water is wet.

    Sun rises in east.

  2. clydeserra - Mar 26, 2014 at 9:58 PM

    where were the frozen burger in this scenario?

  3. travh20 - Mar 26, 2014 at 10:18 PM

    This is the guy who got hit with a foul ball coming up the steps from the clubhouse into the dugout.

  4. temporarilyexiled - Mar 27, 2014 at 10:28 AM

    I take no pleasure in having my fears about the Affeldt, Pagan, and Scutaro signings come true. Scutaro looks like he might be done. Affeldt seems to find a way to get hurt. This time was “normal”. I’d rather it was another freak-show attraction. Pagan may prove me wrong. I certainly hope so. He’s older, been hurt recently, and plays centerfield. What could go wrong?

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2895)
  2. D. Span (2467)
  3. G. Stanton (2379)
  4. J. Fernandez (2376)
  5. G. Springer (2280)
  1. Y. Puig (2180)
  2. F. Rodney (2176)
  3. M. Teixeira (2103)
  4. G. Perkins (2022)
  5. H. Olivera (1888)