Skip to content

Francisco Liriano cleared for Opening Day start

Mar 27, 2014, 11:49 AM EDT

francisco liriano getty Getty Images

Francisco Liriano‘s groin injury put his Opening Day start in jeopardy, but Tom Singer of reports that the Pirates left-hander “has been given the green light” to pitch Game 1 against the Cubs.

Liriano began last season on the disabled list with a broken right arm from an offseason accident and didn’t make his Pirates debut until May 11, but from that point forward he was one of the best pitchers in the league with a 3.02 ERA and 163 strikeouts in 161 innings.

This is a huge season for Liriano, because another excellent, healthy year could lead to a big long-term deal as a 30-year-old free agent, whereas this time last offseason he was coming off a disappointing final season with the Twins and had to settle for a modest deal from the Pirates.

  1. DonRSD - Mar 27, 2014 at 12:07 PM

    Loved this guy since his days as the 1-2 punch with Johan @ Minnesota.

    Wish the Mets signed him a few years ago, after his injuries. Dumb front office.


  2. happytwinsfan - Mar 27, 2014 at 12:07 PM

    in my dreams the twins ownership insists that the organization discover what was different in lirano’s situation with the pirates that was different from his handling by the twins that produced his turn around and report back why this difference existed, costing the ownership millions of dollars of product value.

    • moogro - Mar 27, 2014 at 1:23 PM

      Kevin Costner would visti to the mound and say wise things.

    • twonis - Mar 27, 2014 at 2:37 PM

      Ask yourself why Rick Anderson seems to be the only Twins staff member who doesn’t seem to be in jeopardy of losing his job. That might help clear it up a little. SMH.

  3. yourcubreporter - Mar 27, 2014 at 6:36 PM



Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Wright (2457)
  2. D. Span (2304)
  3. G. Stanton (2224)
  4. Y. Puig (2185)
  5. J. Fernandez (2146)
  1. G. Springer (1964)
  2. B. Crawford (1895)
  3. M. Sano (1776)
  4. M. Teixeira (1769)
  5. J. Hamilton (1696)