Skip to content

Rays sign Yunel Escobar to an extension through 2016

Apr 5, 2014, 5:24 PM EDT

Yunel Escobar AP AP

We heard yesterday that the Rays and shortstop Yunel Escobar were having “serious discussions” about a contract extension and the team announced today that the deal is done.

Escobar will be guaranteed $13 million over the life of the deal, which covers 2015 and 2016 and carries a club option for 2017. His previous contract included a club option for 2015, so the new deal simply replaces the old one.

Escobar, 31, was acquired from the Marlins last winter and hit .256/.332/.336 with nine home runs and 56 RBI over 153 games in 2013. He’s highly-regarded for his defensive abilities.

  1. clydeserra - Apr 5, 2014 at 5:47 PM

    And the rays keep locking up people cheaply.


  2. tfbuckfutter - Apr 5, 2014 at 8:04 PM

    He may be good defensively….

    But he hits like a fairy. Amirite?

  3. deman951 - Apr 5, 2014 at 11:42 PM

    Still think that tfbuck? He homered tonight in a rocket shot to LF. I am glad the Rays locked him up, it is such a nice change to be keeping most of the players around for more than one or two years at a time.

    • tfbuckfutter - Apr 6, 2014 at 1:47 AM

      I was just mocking his homophobia.

      I wasn’t suggesting that tonight wouldn’t be the night he hits one of his 6 HRs this year.

      • bobdira - Apr 6, 2014 at 8:07 AM

        What a thrill to be treated to your social conscience on such a nice morning. To answer your original question; No, you’re not rite. The evidence doesn’t support your assertion.

      • deman951 - Apr 6, 2014 at 12:19 PM

        You have forgotten how bad the Rays once were at SS. Reid Brignac ring a bell? I was there last night it was awesome to have the dome filled up for a change.

  4. madtownthrowdown - Apr 6, 2014 at 11:56 AM

    high five!

Leave Comment

You must be logged in to leave a comment. Not a member? Register now!

Top 10 MLB Player Searches
  1. D. Salazar (3636)
  2. D. Span (3522)
  3. B. Gardner (3316)
  4. Y. Puig (3316)
  5. D. Mesoraco (3310)